Distance Learning

January 23, 2007 at 5:50 am Leave a comment

Today when I was checking my bloglines, I saw that Information Wants to be Free had a post on distance learning.  I am out here nodding my head vigorously.  I started working on my MLIS at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee in their distance ed program.  I switched to Dominican for a number of reasons and I have never regretted it.  I love the face-to-face interaction with classmates and professors.  I learn more and I’m able to network.  It’s fabulous.  This semester though, I’m taking an online course because it worked into my schedule better than anything else.   I appreciate the convenience, I really do, and I know I’ll learn a lot, but Oh. My. Gosh. do I miss the traditional classroom. 

Even though we had a one day orientation type thing, I cannot remember who is who.  I should have brought a camera.  I wish there was a place for us on blackboard to link to each other’s flickr.com accounts, or blogs or something.  I also *need*  to have the professor podcast lecture-type info because just seeing the powerpoint leaves me with that sinking feeling that if I were in a classroom the teacher would be talking and adding pertinent info.  At UW-M the instructors would type up 2-3 pages of lecture notes each week and that helped. 

 It seems to me that just like libraries need to keep current with technology, so do universities.  I’m spoiled by what I know is possible.

Entry filed under: Dominican University, GSLIS.

Second Life and Penguins Teen space at the library

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

