January 30, 2007 at 2:41 am Leave a comment

So, I saw Elizabeth Berg talk on Saturday.  She was funny and charming and had the most beautiful long, gray hair.   Someone in the audience asked her about her writing process and if she writes things out long-hand or if she uses a computer.  She said that she does use a computer for the initial writing, but then prints everything out to make her corrections. 

I do the same thing.  Not that I write novels, but when I write papers I go through reams of paper.  It’s really unfair to the trees, but I just can’t edit as well on the computer screen.  Likewise, if I’m reading a journal article for class, I have to print it off in order to really understand it.  I’m fine with blogs and such, but not things that I need to concentrate really deeply on.

Is this a function of middle-age?  I wonder about the younger people in my classes.  Do they just read the articles online and absorb all that they need to, or do they need to print, underline, re-read, etc. too?

I like the tangible paper in my hands.  For this reason, I never particularly liked the idea of eBooks.  Recently though, I read the article, Scan This Book! by Kevin Kelly.  It got me thinking about how much I might really enjoy reading a book in the same way that I surf the Internet.  What if, as I was reading along, I came to a word that I didn’t know…what if I could click on that word and have a definition pop up?  I’d like that.  What if in the story, a place was referred to, or another book that the character read, what if I could link to information about that place, or the eBook of the character’s book?  I can see the potential for a whole different, interactive reading experience that could rival my love for crisp pages in a book.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The pressure is on True confessions

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

