True confessions

January 30, 2007 at 6:52 pm Leave a comment

I just finished reading a recent post on the blog Information Wants to be Free about the impact of growing up with technology (or not) and how comfortable people feel with using it.   I was born in the 60’s.  In the 1980’s I worked for Dun and Bradstreet and we were on the cutting edge of technology.  I had a portable computer that I traveled with, but it was not exactly a laptop…it was huge.  I was 24 years old.  One year later I had my first baby.  My idea of technology became the baby monitor and the microwave.  I know that there are many, many women who manage to stay current with technology and raise children, but I didn’t.  I realized when I was taking Internet Fundamentals and Design, that I had a lot of catching up to do.  I didn’t even know how to use a thumb drive when I started that class.

 I do think that using technology comes easier for those who have done it since they were wee ones.  I will  continue to struggle and learn more.  What really excites me though, is that before too long there will be a new generation of librarians…a majority who DO feel completely comfortable with technology and will implement it.  I think that libraries will change in amazing ways.

Maybe one day things will change so much that when I look back at my own library (which I love dearly), I can laugh at how the suggestion of IM reference was shot down.  I’m sure there were plenty of libraries out there who initially balked at the idea of online catalogs and now we can’t imagine life without them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Blogging and Books

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2007
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

