just a bit of pondering

March 10, 2007 at 8:55 pm 2 comments

I am not-so-patiently waiting for Dominican’s summer schedule to be posted.  I’m a planner.  I need to know.  ‘Nuf said about that.

 On a different note, in the public library where I work (which I love) there is a big push right now to enforce the cell phone rule of only using the cell phones in the lobby.  The new objective is to make sure this rule is being enforced uniformly – i.e.  telling the adults as well as the teenagers.  That’s all fine and good and all people should be treated equally, but I have such a problem with enforcing it at all.  I personally think that people should be able to carry on a cell phone conversation at a respectful volume, just like they carry on conversations with each other at a respectful volume.  If they are disturbing others while on or off the phone, THAT is the issue.  So, as an employee, what am I to do?  I have a responsibility to enforce the rules, and yet I cringe at telling a quietly speaking person that they have to turn off their cell phone or move to the lobby.

Entry filed under: Dominican University, library 2.0.

I was held captive by Boondoggles Ugh

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michael Stephens  |  March 10, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    So can I not text my friend from your stacks to ask a wuestion or tell him to meet me at the library? Can I use my cell phone on the public computers to save files to its memory card?

    🙂

    MS

    Reply
  • 2. ourlibrary  |  March 11, 2007 at 12:47 am

    Well, Michael, you have an excellent point that I never thought about and I’m fairly certain that the powers that be at work haven’t considered that either. I think I’ll be running in with those questions first thing next week.
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

