Ugh

April 24, 2007 at 12:39 am Leave a comment

I haven’t been posting much lately.  It gives me great appreciation for all of those who continue to post even when life gets busy.  

Over spring break we traveled to different colleges/universities for the benefit of my son, who is a junior in high school.  We saw Macalester and Carleton and the University of Chicago.  I was especially interested in their libraries.  It was interesting to me that although the University of Chicago’s library is known to be one of the best in the world, the tour didn’t take us inside.  At the other, much smaller schools, they took us in and showed us around.  Very proud, they were. 

 Our hotel Internet was down in St. Paul so it was wonderful to walk into the library at Macalester and be able to sit down and log on.  Very friendly people there.  The libraries were busy, happy places. 

My online Collection Development course is almost over.  Can’t say I liked the online format.  At all.  Kinda feeling like I missed out and wish I could retake it in person.  Not that I didn’t learn anything…it just isn’t the same.  I guess I’m too much of a people person.  I wish there was a way to incorporate technology so that Blackboard could be more student-community oriented.  Enough whining.  I know the online option is a fabulous direction for Dominican to be taking.  I know that Karen Brown is a phenomenal professor.  I’m just crabby because I didn’t sign up to witness the phenomenalness in person. 

Entry filed under: Dominican University, GSLIS.

just a bit of pondering

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

