meanwhile, back at the ranch…

June 6, 2008 at 9:54 am Leave a comment

It has been For. Ev. Er. since I posted, but I a couple of funny things happened recently at work that I thought I’d share:

  • Last week an older gentleman walked up the the reference desk and asked me if we have yesterday’s newspaper.  I showed him where it was located and handed it to him.  15 minutes later or so, he came back to the desk to tell me what a huge help I’d been.  Okay, that was nice of him.  Then he turned around and walked out the front door with the newspaper.   I had to chase after him and explain that he couldn’t take the paper…that it is our only copy of it and it is for in-library use only.  He told me that he never should have told me I’d been helpful and then I wouldn’t have noticed him walking out.  ha.  That’ll teach him.
  • Yesterday, a similar thing happened.  A young man with an intimidating appearance approached the desk and asked if I had white-out and a black marker.  I found the items, handed them to him and, you guessed it, he turned around and walked out the front door.  I didn’t chase after him and I’m so glad that I didn’t, because about an hour later, he came back in the library and returned the items.  I’d never seen him in the library before and it seemed like he wasn’t entirely familiar with how libraries work, but you know, I think he had a positive experience and I am so glad.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

People before Policy Women in Technology conference

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

