I’m a time traveler on the Information Highway

November 19, 2008 at 6:08 am Leave a comment

I love my job.  I love how no two days are alike at the library.  I learn something new every day.  I am so serious about that.   I love that the library is the perfect blend of old and new. 

When I’m weeding, like today, I sometimes come across a book that nobody has checked out in a zillion years and I realize that it might in fact be worth something, so I research it and sure enough…it IS.  It’s like finding an Easter egg or something.  So, I take it to the Powers That Be and they do something with it.  Who knows?  Maybe it is put in storage for posterity or maybe it gets sold and the profits go to the library.  At any rate, it just feels special to hold something like that.  On the opposite end of the spectrum, I also get to try out new databases and discover the power and information within each one.  In my job I get to bridge so many different worlds – information worlds past and present as well as the real-life worlds of patrons when they come to the reference desk for help.

What a life!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Obama’s popularity and an odd way that it impacts the library “but in the end, a lot of it’s about your outlook…”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

